Places of interest
The first medieval walls of Segovia rises in the late eleventh and early twelfth century to defend the city after its recapture by Raimundo of Burgundy.
The walled perimeter fits the rock on which the town rises. The western side, facing the Valle del Eresma, is at the sharp apex of the Alcázar.
One of the five doors giving access to the walled city of Santiago is located in the northern part of the Wall and located very close to the Alcázar and the Royal Mint.
Restored and converted into a museum, it houses the collection Puppet Francisco Peralta.
- Puppet collection Francisco Peralta
Puppet Collection Francisco Peralta is located inside the Puerta de Santiago , just a few minutes walk from the Royal Mint and Alcazar.
This is one of the city gates that gave access to the walled enclosure, whose purpose was not only defensive but also had a tax collection and judicial.
The museum contains a wonderful collection Puppet puppeteer Francisco Peralta. The exhibition is designed to give all the attention to these little gems. Made of wood, bandages, plaster and rabbit skin glue, recycled materials, fabric and metal elements . The puppets represent characters in plays taken from popular ballads and also show different handling systems: wires, gears and joints, machinery, rods, handles or pedestals.
Puerta de Santiago.
C/ Puerta de Santiago, 36
Tel. 921 46 05 01
This area of Segovia treasures a large concentration of monuments framed interest in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The visit to the Royal Mint can be supplemented by visiting this area, one of the lesser known treasures of the city.
- Parral Monastery
Monastery commissioned by Henry IV in 1447, although the legend attributes the foundation of the same to his favorite Juan Pacheco, Marquis of Villena. It is a complex of buildings arranged around several Gothic, Mudejar and Plateresque cloisters.
Abandoned after the Confiscation of 1836 and looted, its reconstruction took place after being declared a National Monument in 1914 and be again occupied by monks of the Order Jerónima 1927.
On the facade of the monastic, unfinished church, highlights the shields of the Pacheco and a graceful tower topped with Plateresque cresting, by the Segovian Juan Campero; Inside, with a ship, stand at the foot, side chapels and polygonal head, follows the model of Hieronymite constructions and was designed by the architect Juan Guas, the greatest exponent of Elizabethan Gothic.
Among the exceptional works of art of this temple include the cover of the sacristy, the tomb of Beatriz Pacheco and the Apostolate framing the high windows of the head, the sculptor Sebastián de Almonacid; and Plateresque set formed by the central altarpiece carved in wood, and the monumental sculptures of Juan Pacheco and his wife, Maria de Portocarrero, the work of the sculptors Juan Rodriguez and Lucas Giraldo.
Monasterio del Parral
C/ El Parral s/n
Tel. (+34) 921 43 12 98
Zamarramala way is the Church of Vera Cruz, founded by the Knights of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre in 1208, although the popular tradition comes from time immemorial , attributing to losTemplarios .
The church, dodecagonal plant , has a very sober and exciting interior, with a mysterious halo. It has two floors with vault Muslim style , and remains of wall paintings.
Vera Cruz Church
Ctra. De Zamarramala s/n
Tel. (+34) 921 431 475
- Carmelitas Discalced Convent
Located near the Sanctuary of the Virgin of Fuencisla and next to the church of Vera Cruz, the convent is a good example of seventeenth century architecture.
A stone staircase, as an ascent of Mount Carmel takes us into the convent, founded by John of the Cross in 1586, on an earlier, Trinitarios community, settled in 1206. The mystic poet’s house ruled 1587 1591 more friend to walk the path, carved in the rock, leading to the high of the Grajeras Peñas, where a small chapel dedicated to Santa Teresa, spiritual refuge of the saint is. the skeleton of cypress planted by him still stands there.
The remains of San Juan rest in a luxurious tomb which is no reflection of his simple life, but his great work; built by Felix Granada in 1927 as a tribute to the two hundred years of his canonization.
Leaving this chapel will find on the left the simple church in its main altar has a modern and gigantic altarpiece composed of nine paintings inspired by the poetry of John of the Cross and performed by the Mexican Carmelita Gerardo López Bonilla occasion the visit made John Paul II in 1982.
Convento de los Carmelitas Descalzos
Pº De Segundo Rincón 2
Tel. (+34) 921 431 349 / 921 431 961
- Sanctuary of the Virgin of Fuencisla
Sanctuary dedicated to the patron saint of the Community of City and Earth of Segovia. Built between 1598 and 1613 by Francisco de Mora to the Renaissance expansion of the early medieval hermitage existing there have been small . It has an altarpiece by Pedro de la Torre on the altar as well as a notable baroque grille closing the presbytery and donated by the guild of drapers.
Santuario Ntra. Sra. La Fuencisla
Pº de Segundo Rincón, s/n
Tel. (+34) 921 433 185
- San Marcos Romeral
Garden created by the landscape architect Leandro Silva Delgado Uruguay, orchards near the Eresma river. Formed by more than three hundred species worldwide. The visit to Romeral to discover a work of art that reflects the soul and personality of its author . It is a perfect example of contemporary landscaping, and from it you can enjoy a unique and particular view of the Alcázar.
Romeral de San Marcos, jardín de Leandro Silva
C/ Marqués de Villena, 17
Tel. 921 46 10 77 – 655 131 446
PATH OF MILLS
This route is a pleasant walk that runs along the banks of the Eresma River from the San Lorenzo to San Marcos , through the Mint . The tour allows you to discover not only the landscape value of this area but also hydraulic and industrial heritage of the city. Along the route the visitor will find old factories like Loza, Flours and Borra, and the Molinos de la Hoya, Kabyle and Portalejo , testimonies of intense industrial past of this area of the city
- Wool Factory
The building, located in the heart of San Lorenzo, in the late sixteenth century it was paper mill use, which continued until the early twentieth century, where paper was manufactured various kinds . In 1910 the family Riber, converts the paper industry in manufacturing linters , regenerated and mattresses founded ” La Fabril Segoviana ” and an ice factory which used water power of the river to move a small refrigerator compressor. In 1986 , the City buys the factory and its properties to make it home to the Municipal Workshop School, in operation since; It is an example of the concept of recycling, so in vogue today.
This former factory now houses 4 workshops of local artisans:
- Restoration of artworks
Centro municipal de formación y empleo
“ANTIGUA FÁBRICA DE BORRA”
Paseo Alameda del Parral, 1
Tfno. y fax: 921 43 33 63